The SBS Radio and Television Youth Orchestra is grateful to many people and organisations for their support. Clearly the continuous support and encouragement from the Television, Radio and Administrative Divisions of the Special Broadcasting Service ensured the sustainability of the orchestra.

From the time the orchestra was formed in 1988 many SBS staff members provided support beyond the call of their normal duties.


Matthew Krel (Founding Conductor),

Noulie Skoumbas (publicity), Jenny Looman (publicity),
Austin Steele (Television Production and a voluntary Director of the Orchestra),
John Goozee (SBS staff member).

Voluntarily Ian Hamilton and John Goozee served various terms as Company Secretary and as managers. The orchestra’s membership was large in number during its 25 years of operation. We also counted them as our greatest supporters, along with their parents and families.

There were many individuals who assisted the orchestra, too many to name here. These however include many staff from SBS Television, Radio and Administration

Also:  Fatima de Assis,  Simon Thew,  Geoffrey Gartner,  Adam Sebire and Brendan Frost


The orchestra was fortunate to have access to some of Sydney’s most prestigious musicians, many of whom were willing to take tutorial groups as part of our regular rehearsal regime. Their support contributed enormously to the quality of our performances and recordings. Some of those who provided tutorial services were:

Frank Celata, Max Claxton, Anne-Louise Comerford, Sandro Costantino, Fatima de Assis,
Maria Durek,
Brett Favell,  Geoffrey Gartner, Don Hazelwood, Robert Johnson, Marshall Kim, Scott Kinmont, Faina Krel, Andrew Meisel, George Pedersen, Ron Prussing, Byana Rosenblit,
Robert Tepper , Simon Thew, Alex Todicescu, Felicity Tsai, Thomas Tsai


The Orchestra was supported for periods by many organisations including:
  • St George Bank
  • Coca Cola Amatil
  • SBS Radio
  • ABC Classic FM
  • Parramatta Riverside Theatre
  • Rode Microphones
  • Optimum Percussion
  • 2MBSFM